So I went to Cork…

I spent two nights in Cork recently and had a great time. Myself and Gavin stayed in Jurys Inn which is close to everything in the city. 👍Before we went to Cork both of us did some research to find some Coeliac Friendly restaurants and cafés where I could eat.

Here are the places we tried out:

  • Scoozi Restaurant  We just stumbled across Scoozi’s while looking for somewhere to get breakfast on our first day. By chance  I saw that their waffles on their menu said “Gluten Friendly” so Gavin went in and asked if they were gluten-free and the waiter said yes! Lets just say I had the biggest smile on my face 😆 They had two different toppings for the waffles, one was Berries, Yoghurt and Maple Syrup and the other was Chocolate and Cream. I was very tempted to get the chocolate and cream waffles but decided to try to be good (for the sake of Slimming World)  and get the one with Berries, Yoghurt and Maple Syrup. That probably wasn’t much better 😛 The waffles were extremely good! Maybe I was just way too excited to have waffles for the first time in 2 years! Everyone in there was friendly and there seemed to be a lot of locals which is always a good sign. From what I can remember they also had a gluten-free chocolate cake and gluten-free cupcakes. I did not have a chance to try those this time but there is always next time 😀

    IMAG0565.jpg

    Waffles from Scoozis 😀

  • Idaho Cafe  We were originally meant to go here on the day we arrived in Cork but Gavin never checked the opening hours so when we arrived it was closed! However we did go there on our last day in Cork, we were too late for breakfast so I ended up getting a Chocolate cake with cream. Not the best thing to be having the day of weigh-in. It was very rich but very tasty. I quickly glanced on the menu and saw they did gluten-free toast for breakfast and their lunch options are also gluten-free. The people in their were very friendly and I would happily go there next time I am in Cork to try put their lunch options.
  • Nandos You can’t beat a Nandos when you are hungry! Gavin and I were starving on the first day and after having a wander around the city we decided to have a Nandos. I had been wanting a Nandos forever so I was more than happy to go there for dinner. My first time going to Nandos as a Coeliac they provided me with a big book that showed all the ingredients in their dishes. This was extremely helpful and since that day I have ordered the same things! This information is also provided on the menu on their website. When I go to Nandos I have Planish Chicken Butterfly (I’m not good with hot stuff!!), Spicy Rice and Chips. I love Nando’s Spicy Rice ❤ The Nandos in Cork was very big with lots of room. We got a booth which was cool! 🙂
  • CoqBull This was the place we were most excited to visit! Everything gluten-free on both their menu online and in the restaurant was clearly marked.The menu consists of Coq (Chicken) or Bull (Beef burgers and other things).  It had a very trendy atmosphere. I ordered a Half Roast Chicken with CoqBull fries and Chicken Gravy. Not going to lie I was very excited about the gravy and it did not disappoint! It was all very tasty and I would certainly go back there again. There was also a Bunless Bull Burger available for those who would prefer a burger. Gavin had a burger and it looked delicious but I think my Chicken was better 😛

Other Gluten-Free places we found in Cork but did not try were:

  1. Milanos I have been to Milanos before and really enjoyed it.
  2. Fenns Quay Everything on their menu online is clearly marked and they have gluten-free bread available.
  3. SoHo Bar and Restaurant They had a range of gluten-free options available.
  4. The Cornstore Restaurant Has some gluten-free tenner lunch options and dinners.
  5. The Meatball Place We passed this place but the menu didn’t appeal to us. Many gluten-free options though.
  6. Gourmet Burger Bistro A Gluten-free bun is available for the burgers. Their menu online also shows all the gluten-free options.

So for any Coeliac visiting Cork they should definitely try Scoozi’s for Waffles (before 12pm) and CoqBull for their Chicken Gravy! 😀

Looking forward to going back to Cork! 🙂

One thought on “So I went to Cork…

Leave a comment