Being a Coeliac!

I have thought about writing a blog for a while now about being Coeliac and I’m guessing today is the day! I’m hoping to give people an insight into what it’s like being coeliac and do some reviews on the best places to eat around. Or maybe I just need a place to rant when people ask me stupid questions! 😛

So lets start at the beginning! It all started back around December 2013 when I began to feel ill and bloated after eating certain foods. I kept a diary and tried to figure out what was making me feel this way. I also went to the doctor and got some bloods taken to test me for Coeliac disease and any other allergies. I had a gut feeling that I was Coeliac as I had nearly all of the symptoms and my mother and aunt (who are also coeliacs) enjoyed reminding me the symptoms of being Coeliac. So in February, I got the dreaded phone call from my doctor to confirm that I was a Coeliac. I must admit my heart did sink a little bit! I think I had myself convinced that I wasn’t going to be. Although before I got the phone call I had a chicken fillet roll with cheese for lunch and I never enjoyed anything as much. Little did I know it would be the last chicken fillet roll I could get from the garage across from the college!!

After getting over the initial disappointment of being a Coeliac, I quickly got over it and started enjoying any gluten-free foods I could find. It’s not all that bad living a gluten-free lifestyle. I can still eat most things except nice breads, biscuits and cakes 😛 I did eat far too many Aero’s at the start and now I have grown to dislike them! There is a great selection of foods out there now that we can eat.

Going out to restaurants and cafes can be a bit of a pain! It’s hard to go out for a meal or a bite to eat without looking up menus and checking to see if there is a gluten-free option. No more spontaneous meals out for me! And when I do go out for something to eat where I ask for the gluten-free options, the waiters either don’t know what they are or give me a dodgey look. That usually means they think I am on one of those fad diets and that I do not have a gluten intolerance.  Those fad diets really irritate me and I don’t understand why people would put themselves through that!! Although I now have a list of many different places to eat that do gluten-free options which makes life a bit easier.

I think I’ve done enough ranting for today! I will leave this on a positive note…McDonald’s Twisty Fries are gluten-free 😀

Leave a Reply

